REFLECTION

REFLECTION

Upon looking back on my responses for this assignment,I am happy with my final result,Many drafts and many redo’s got this assessment to the level it is at now and I am proud of my responses. Something I could have done better is to use less words,I found it hard to cut down in this assignment.I believe i could write this many words under pressure in exam time.I am happy with each related text I have chosen,but if I could learn about a new text i would choose the story BIG WORLD that we received in class, now reading it for a second time ,I believe there are significant discoveries within this story and i enjoy reading it.

 

How I came to choose The shawshank Redemption,was through a friend suggesting I watch the film,but what originally persuaded me was the book version,as I read it I noticed all of the profound discoveries which are so well conveyed visually  through the film.I chose the film The Shawshank Redemption as a related text,because it is a powerful film that i heard about.It deals with a period of American history that discrimination and prejudice was at a widespread peak.The title also intrigued me as it suggests a positive change due to the context,This interested me in as I started to think about someone living in this time,and what their redemption could possibly be.After I watched the film,I found it was a discovery on many levels,a redemption of many levels.Within characters in the movie,and for us as viewers.

‘The Door’ was a poem used in a makeup practice HSC exam which an english teacher had gave me.What interested me upon reading this poem,is that it can be on two levels,in all its simplicity,if you choose to take it to the next level,it can become very complex.I also like that it was relevant to a broad demographic,a universal statement.It also successfully creates similarities and differences with ‘The Motorcycle Diaries’.

‘Untitled’ is an artwork and by an artist we study in year 12 visual arts,whilst researching about it, I wanted to learn further,so I decided to use it for an english related text,It soon showed me the discoveries present,and I found it easy to analyse. What intrigued me though was the way the composer Gordon Bennett,could convey all his ideas,issues and anxieties through his artwork by using symbolism,imagery and text.

My chosen related texts have similarities such as they all contain self discovery and physical discovery.But they also differ in which their style types, I chose to do an artwork,movie,and poem for the diversity they can offer.

 

Leave a comment